sheila's world

raining

it's raining right now. it's supposed to rain for like the next two weeks. the leaves are starting to turn yellow on the trees. before we know it they're all going to be flying in the breeze. autumn is my favorite season, I have to admit. I do appreciate summer but generally I'm so busy working during the summer I miss the whole season. autumn and winter are more laid-back and I feel like I have some more free time. even though by november I'm usually complaining about the winter, and all of that snow, and everything being wet - on a day with a completely clear blue sky, with the air smelling clean and crisp with a bite to it, and the snow sparkling on the ground in the sunlight, winter feels magical and special. you can't get a day like that on a hot, blue sky day, or a rainy, cloudy autumn day. unfortunately in Alaska during the winter those days only last like four hours until the sun sets and it's just black outside. the worst is when it's 5 pm, it's rush hour, the snow is falling so hard that your windshield wipers are just being worked, you don't have studs on so you have to keep the distance of like four cars in front of you and it takes 30 minutes longer than usual to get to your destination because you need to pass like three car crashes.